Replacing a major iPhone finally lets you handle previous Wi-Fi networks and even view their passwords « iOS and iPhone :: Gadget Hacks

For years, Android has provided straightforward ways to view all the Wi-Fi networks you've connected previously, and you'll see your saved passwords in plain text content. With iOS 16, Apple finally gave us the same option to view saved Wi-Fi hotspots, copy their passwords, and remove old ones without getting close to their entry factors.

To handle the completely new Wi-Fi settings in your iPhone, you must be running iOS 16. The change also appears in iPadOS 16 for iPad, which is still in beta.

1. View the networks to which you have previously been linked

In iOS 16, Apple allows you to view and remember all the Wi-Fi networks your iPhone has connected to. If iCloud Keychain is enabled on all of your Apple gadgets, you'll even be able to see Wi-Fi networks saved by these various gadgets. For example, you can use your iPhone to see all the networks your Mac or iPad has saved. Networks from your iPhone as long as Keychain for iCloud is enabled on all gadgets. Now, you will be able to instantly view all your previous iOS networks saved in your iPhone.

To see all saved networks, go to Settings -> Wi-Fi -> Edit. Next, authenticate that you used your face ID, contact ID, or passcode to gain access. Wi-Fi hotspots remembered must be entirely below recognized networks .

Major iPhone Update Finally Lets You Manage Past Wi-Fi Networks and Even View Their Passwords

2. Remove networks to which you have previously joined

It is also possible to remove any specific Wi-Fi hotspot without being near or associated with it. For example, if you're on a trip and use the resort's Wi-Fi, you can view that community and remove it from your iPhone so that sooner or later it doesn't automatically try to connect to it. The passwords will be completely different anyway.

In iOS 15 and earlier, you will be able to remove a Wi-Fi community from your iPhone by viewing the information (i) for it in your Wi-Fi settings and making a decision to “Overlook” about this community. However, you can do this in iOS 16, but like in older software versions, you have to be close to the community to see it in your settings.

You can reset your community settings by way of Settings -> Normal -> Switch or Reset -> Reset to remove all networks and start the modern era, but this is overkill if you simply need To get rid of one community. In addition, it messes with different settings, equivalent to your iPhone address, manually trusted certificates, roaming, and any mode in VPNs. You can also log in and out of networks from iCloud Keychain using your Mac, but chances are that you won't discover every community. The Wi-Fi settings are pretty cool. When Wi-Fi optimization options are displayed, tap the minus icon next to the community you want to remove, and then tap Delete that has been adopted by Achieved.

Major iPhone Update Finally Lets You Manage Past Wi-Fi Networks and Even View Their Passwords

Major iPhone Update Finally Lets You Manage Past Wi-Fi Networks and Even View Their Passwords

When iCloud Keychain is enabled on all iCloud-connected gadgets, You will be asked to prove the cancellation as the community will be overlooked on all widgets. Click “Take Away” to install.

Major iPhone Update Finally Lets You Manage Past Wi-Fi Networks and Even View Their Passwords

Major iPhone Update Finally Lets You Manage Past Wi-Fi Networks and Even View Their Passwords

3. View and Copy Passwords for Existing Wi-Fi Community

Another great Wi-Fi feature in iOS 16 is the ability to View and copy the Wi-Fi password of the community you are currently in or any community in the history of the selected networks. When iCloud Keychain is enabled, you can also view and mirror passwords from any of your gadgets. Mac in Keychain Entry, but the only factor you will do in your iPhone is to instantly share your password to the current community with your family and close friends without seeing it in plain text content.

Go to Settings -> Wi-Fi, tap the info (i) button next to the community it's associated with, and tap the all-new “Password” area, which hides the letters with dots. Your iPhone will authenticate you with Face ID, Contact ID, or your passcode, revealing the password in plain text content. When you reveal the password itself, a “copy” ability will appear so that you can copy the password to your clipboard.

Major iPhone Update Finally Lets You Manage Past Wi-Fi Networks and Even View Their Passwords

Major iPhone Update Finally Lets You Manage Past Wi-Fi Networks and Even View Their Passwords

Major iPhone Update Finally Lets You Manage Past Wi-Fi Networks and Even View Their Passwords

4. View and copy passwords for saved Wi-Fi networks

The method is the same for saved networks and currently linked networks, you only need to be in the 'Modify' of the existing Wi-Fi network to search for all the selected Wi-Fi networks. If you don't see the “Password” area for a hotspot, the community may be insecure, and it doesn't require a password to attach.

Major iPhone Update Finally Lets You Manage Past Wi-Fi Networks and Even View Their Passwords

Major iPhone Update Finally Lets You Manage Past Wi-Fi Networks and Even View Their Passwords

5. View managed networks from your service

You will also see Managed networks

in the Wi-Fi settings editor. These networks were automatically added to your system by your mobile provider or configuration profile, and you cannot delete or overlook them from the Edit settings.

For example, if you use Verizon, you may see VerizonWiFiAccess and PrivateMobileWiFi. On AT&T, you might even see attwifi and AT&T Wi-Fi Passport. These carriers use hotspots to offload site visitors from their mobile community.

Unlike selected networks, you will not be able to delete/overlook these or view any passwords.

Major iPhone Update Finally Lets You Manage Past Wi-Fi Networks and Even View Their Passwords

Leave a Comment